Skip to content

Questions of Faith: What are the Ten Commandments?

Photo by Stephan Seeber on

What are the Ten Commandments?

There are a total of Ten Commandments given to Moses on Mount Sinai. The commandments are summarized by Jesus Christ into two categories. One of the categories is worship of GOD and the second is the ability to respect boundaries. We learn that the two categories allow us to see that GOD is to be above all and that for there to be a stable society, individuals need to obey the Ten Commandments.

The first commandment is about the worship of GOD and that there is no other worship but only to GOD, Jesus Christ, and the Spirit of Truth, who are one GOD. The second commandments states that there should not be idol worship. There shall not be other beliefs that should interfere with the worship of GOD. The third commandment is not to take the name of GOD in vain. The fourth commandment is to rest on the Sabbath. The fifth is to honor parents.

The sixth is not to murder. Seventh not to commit adultery. Eight commandment not to steal. Ninth commandment is not to speak falsely. The tenth commandment is to prevent coveting.

We learn that the meaning behind the Ten Commandments were to allow individuals to live in a society where individuals were able to be at peace. We learn that GOD gives peace through the following of the commandments and allowing us to understand the importance of GOD. We learn that through the Scriptures, GOD gives us the ability to understand that GOD is there to provide understanding.

We learn that those that followed the commandments were able to have understanding. These allow for societies to be at peace through the following of GOD’s word and instruction.

%d bloggers like this: